Similar to the more well-known Federal government structure, Sumner’s government is divided into three branches:

  • The Mayor is elected directly by the people, known as a “strong mayor” form of government, and oversees the executive branch of government, similar to how the President oversees all Federal departments. Sumner has a part-time mayor who employs a City Administrator to run day-to-day operations. The mayor also runs council meetings yet does not vote on items unless in the rare instance to break a tie vote.
  • The City Council is the legislative, or policy branch of government. Seven members are elected at-large to represent Sumner citizens and set broad policy decisions.
  • Municipal Court is the judicial branch of government and oversees Sumner’s court of limited jurisdiction.

Office of Mayor

Mayor Bill Pugh was elected in November 2017 and is serving a four-year term through 2021. Mayor Pugh came to Sumner in 2008 to serve as its public works director. He had just retired from a full career in City of Tacoma as public works director and assistant city manager. He planned to spend about three years in Sumner.

Instead, he fell in love with the city staff and the community. His planned-for three years turned into ten; he moved here, and he met and married his wife Karen here. He joined Sumner Rotary, serving for a year as its president; he serves on the Advisory Board for Sumner’s Gordon Family YMCA, and he’s helped raise money for the City’s Relay for Life team, helped build Sumner’s Daffodil Float, and raised awareness and funds for Exodus Housing by literally jumping into Lake Tapps in November.

Contact Us

Mayor Bill Pugh
mayorbill@sumnerwa.gov
253-299-5500 (office of City Clerk)

City Council

About the Council Process

Lots of issues come before a City Council.  Learn the process for how topics work their way through committees, commissions and the council so that you know better how to follow issues and provide your own thoughts.

Contact Us

Sumner’s Councilmembers serve at large, which means all seven represent every citizen throughout the City.  Your thoughts do not have to be reserved for meetings only.  Contact your councilmembers to let them know what you’re thinking about the future policy that guides Sumner.

Barbara Bitetto, term 2018-2021, bbitetto@sumnerwa.gov  253-299-5793
Curt Brown, term 2016-2019, cbrown@sumnerwa.gov, 253-299-5796
Kathy Hayden, term 2018-2021, khayden@sumnerwa.gov, 253-299-5792
Cindi Hochstatter, term 2016-2019, chochstatter@sumnerwa.gov, 253-299-5795
Melony Pederson, term 2018-2021, mpederson@sumnerwa.gov, 253-299-5791
Patrick Reed, term 2016-2019, preed@sumnerwa.gov, 253-299-5794
Earle Stuard, appointed 2018, term through 2019, eastuard@sumnerwa.gov, 253-299-5797