The Washington Public Records Act (Chapter 42.56 RCW) and other statutes govern the release of records from public agencies in Washington State, including police departments. The following information is designed to give you a very basic overview of the public disclosure process. If you require additional assistance, please contact us.
The Sumner Police Department only maintains records and reports for the following agencies:
- Sumner Police Department
- Metro Animal Services
Dispatch and 911 Records
These records are maintained by Pierce County’s regional dispatch agency, South Sound 911, and must be requested through them directly. Their office can be reached by phone at 253-798-7441.
These records must be requested through the particular court in which the case was tried or processed. In general, the Sumner Municipal Court (253-862-6606) handles misdemeanor cases, and the Pierce County Superior Court (253-798-7455) handles felony cases.
How Much Does It Cost?
You may be charged up to $0.15 per page; however, the Sumner Police Department provides the first 20 pages free of charge.
How Long Does It Take?
Processing times can vary widely due to a number of reasons, including our current workload, the complexity of your request, and the amount of other requests received throughout the day or week.
We fulfill a majority of requests (over 90%) within five business days. If we are not able to fulfill your request with that time-frame, we will notify you with an initial time estimate or other explanation. Due to the time it takes to research and process each request, we cannot typically offer same-day or “while you wait” service, and we cannot guarantee that your records will be ready by a certain date. Please keep this in mind if you have a court/hearing date or other time constraint.
How To Make A Request For Records
Redactions and Exemptions
State and federal law prohibit or exempt the release of certain public records. Prior to release, all documents are screened and appropriately redacted or withheld. A brief explanation of any exemptions will be included.
Annually, the Washington State Office of the Code Reviser publishes a list of public disclosure exemptions contained in the Revised Code of Washington. That list can be accessed through the Washington State Attorney General’s Office website.
Cancelled Or Abandoned Requests
If we are unable to reach you by phone, we will often attempt to send a letter, email, or other form of communication to reach you. If we attempt to contact you and your fulfilled request is not picked up or paid for within 30 days, we may consider your request abandoned and closed and recycle the documents. If you made a request, but then change your mind or otherwise don’t need it anymore, please let us know so we can discontinue processing it.
Criminal History Record Information (Background Checks)
The Washington State Patrol Identification and Criminal History Section (WASIS) has established the WATCH website as the official online resource for criminal history conviction records for the state of Washington. This database is comprised of records sent to WASIS by courts and criminal justice agencies throughout the state of Washington only. This database includes conviction information, arrests less than one year old with dispositions pending, and information regarding registered sex and kidnap offenders.
Please review the WATCH website and their FAQ page for more information on requesting criminal history record information. Alternatively, you may call the WSP Identification Section at (360) 534-2000.
Based at the police desk in City Hall, our two records clerks are responsible for a wide variety of specialized support services, including customer relations, records and database management, case report processing and distribution, public disclosure, concealed pistol licenses, investigative assistance, and much more.
Often the first point of contact for many visitors to the department, our records staff maintains a thorough understanding of the many different facets and processes of the criminal justice system in order to provide the best service possible.
Records Desk Hours: 8am – 5pm, Mon – Fri, except holidays
Click here for City calendar noting business holidays when offices are closed.
The records desk is located at the police window inside the main doors of City Hall.
Sumner Police Department
1104 Maple Street, Suite 140
Sumner, WA 98390
Non-Emergency Dispatch (available 24 hours): Toll-Free 844-821-8911
Administrative Offices: 253-863-6384
Tip Line: 253-299-5678
Animal Control: 253-299-PETS (7387)